1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. Curve

Curve New Member

Loc:
    Central, MA
    I have a VistaFlame VF-55. I am new to Pellet Stoves, installed this stove in October. I clean the stove about every 2 weeks.
    Can I open the Ash Door without shutting the stove down? Can I open the Fire Box glass door without shutting the stove down?

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. briansol

briansol Minister of Fire

Loc:
    central ct
    Not sure of your exact model stove.... generally you can, but generally you shouldn't :)

I only open my door while its on to scoop quickly out the burn pot if it got clinkered up.
    any other case, i shut it down for an hour, usually 2 or 3 to be safe, before vacuuming it out/etc.
  3. hossthehermit

hossthehermit Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Not meant to be rude, BUT, your owner's manual is your friend.
  4. stovelark

stovelark Minister of Fire

Loc:
    SE CT
    Curve not a good idea to open door for anything other than to clear a clinker, and since you have the agitator, you should be all set. Remember, when you open ash door or front door, you'll lose vacuum after a bit and the stove will stop feeding. I'd suggest cleaning it all out at once after its been turned off and cools down. Good luck.

Stovelark
    Enviro Empress FPI AC
    Enviro EF3 FS pellet
    Enviro Kodiak 1700 FS wood
  5. subsailor

subsailor Minister of Fire

Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Harman manual says you can remove the ash pan and empty it without shutting the stove down. I open my firebox door every day to scrape the burn pot.
  6. stovelark

Loc:
    SE CT