Bayou wood pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Anybody? I'm interested also because I just bought a ton but I'm new to using a pellet stove so I don't know if they are burning good because I have nothing to compare to.

Thanks

Leorousseau said:
Anybody? I'm interested also because I just bought a ton but I'm new to using a pellet stove so I don't know if they are burning good because I have nothing to compare to. Thanks

Not sure how much of a response your going to get, since they just started making this year:

"During 2007 the company embarked on the construction of a 60,000 ton wood pellet mill which is projected to begin operations January of 2008."

I think you may be on your own, but I'm sure everyone here would be interested in how they work for you.

I have used pellets before for my dogs litter and from my experience with pellets they are very dusty compare to LG's and not tightly compressed like other pellets I've seen. All of the other pellets I've seen are nice and tightly compressed with a shiny coating on them. The Bayou pellets are big and crumbly with a lot of dust. I probably won't buy them again. I ordered them months ago for $249/ton and they just came in 2 weeks ago. Live and learn

Ok, after burning the Bayou's from Home Depot I burned a bag of the Green Supremes and man what a difference. The GS burned about 50 degrees hotter on setting number 2 on my P38 and my auger didn't make much noise at all with the GS's. The Bayous were more dusty and powdery than anything. My next ton will be the Green Supremes.