Best firewood scrounge tips

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bsig31r

Jun 27, 2010
VA Beach
As a newbie, I wanted to see how everyone else is getting their free firewood. I know craigslist around here is a great help. Most people around here keep telling me to wait for a huricane to come through. Personally I don't want to see one come through.

I have gotten alot of my wood from friends. Ask around. People with woods or even wooded lots may want a tree or two removed. I don't tackle anything that has any chance of hitting things of value when cut down, which eliminates a lot of potential firewood, but still find lots of wood. Downed wood, storm damage, and the occasional tree that an amateur can safely cut all have added up to lots of firewood for me. Also, don't pass up small scrounges. I've collected several cords of wood by picking up a few pieces here and a few there.

This has worked for me:
* chat with friends and nieghbors, let them know you want wood.
* never say no to an opportunity to get wood
* try and hook up with a tree service

It depends on where your skill set lyes........If you need wood on the ground or can you fell yourself? What size saw or saws you have? Splitter? Trailer? It all really comes down to how much you know and your tools. Once you have both they really do come to you...There is atleast 5 cords of wood on the ground less than 2 miles from my house from things people started and cant finish. Its really nice to have a saw that normal home owner doesnt have and that alone will keep in wood.