Best use of 2 fireplaces with LP Gas

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WisRAM

Jan 5, 2015
Wisconsin
Hey everyone - long time listener first time caller.. I've done a lot of reading on the site (and have learned a ton) as I've been burning wood to heat a small cabin for 20+ years but my wife and I recently purchased a new home and this is our first winter in it - I'm looking to get your thoughts on the best heating combination for our setup. Needless to say, its much different heating a 2 story home vs. a 800sq/ft cabin!

- The home is a 2-story with partial finished basement, insulated slab in the living area. 1st and 2nd floor living area is 2100sq/ft and the basement is 1/2 finished (utility and laundry in unfinished portion).

- Upstairs are 2 bedrooms and an office, which are used seldom. Living room has 13' ceilings with a Kozy Heat Z42-CD. Master bedroom is located on first floor connected to living room.

- Downstairs is roughly 1/2 finished with a in-law suite and second living room. This space is seldom used as well, but could be if it made more sense to use this as a primary "TV" room. The downstairs has a second Kozy Heat Z42-CD that is ducted into the return air of a single Bryant 95i furnace.

- The furnace is set up for dual-zone, upstairs & downstairs and runs on LP.