Suggestions for Southeast home 2200sf

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

NoobyFireEastCoast

Nov 29, 2023
Chapel Hill, NC
Hello,
So I am very new to all this, only going into my second season heating just with wood. Would love some suggestions, here is my information down below and then some questions.
  1. 2200sf home, split level, 600sf basement, 1000sf main room, 600sf upstairs with all bathrooms and bedrooms.
  2. Old wood stove in the basement, it can put out a lot of heat, enough to clear the basement and the rooms upstairs on high, on low only burns for 6 hours and barely keeps the heat steady when the outside temperature goes below 32. Eat wood like its no ones business. Heats the rooms decent, but the main living area gets almost no heat.
  3. Fireplace in the main room, looking to put in an insert.
I have called around and done some research on big name brands. I would love a catalytic stove, just because the burn times are so much better typically, and I personally hate waking up in the middle of the night to feed it, let alone hauling that much wood everyday downstairs. No one seems in my area to just sell blaze kings (princess was my top choice), there are dealers but they need to install them which runs like 9k+. Would love to just buy one, or even better buy one used to save some money, but I can't find anything. Buck stove is big here, but the only one that really catches my eye is the 91, which is much more massive than I need. Anything else around me seems to have bad ratings (looking through used facebook marketplace).