Bigger is better right?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Money pit

Feb 28, 2008
Connecticut
I am a wood burning rookie and am struggling with what size insert to get for my 2400 sq. ft. cape. I have done quite a lot of research and am impressed with the Pacific Energy products. The room is 18X20 with large openings into other large areas of the house. If I go with the larger Summit insert, will I blow people out of the room it is in?

I'm a mechanical engineer and like to do things with a good deal of "safetly factor"
for this reason I purchased the summit insert for my home that's barely 2000 square feet - a typical 60's colonial 2 story.
I don't really believe the 3000 square foot claim of pacific energy - and I find it very difficult to believe this is any sort of good way to rate a stove.
there are SO many variables in home construction, chimney contruction, wood btu ratings, etc - it's nearly impossible to predict just how well a particular stove will heat a particular home.

I do agree with your bigger is better argument - it's easy to use smaller wood loads in a larger stove than it is to continually run a smaller stove at high burn rates - which require more frequent loading.

I have learned a great deal in my short time on this forum - the most important thing is that the installation is equally important in your satisfaction with a stove as the stove itself.