Blaze King KFF-403 (circa 1983)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

markortwein

Feb 22, 2016
Mississippi
Hello,

This is my first time to post here and brand new to burning wood for heat. After reading through many posts, I'm very excited to get started.

Here's a bit of context:

We have a chimney that has--as far as I can tell--never been used to burn wood. It's an unlined masonry chimney that extends 21 feet up the side of our house. It's quite spacious with dimensions of (very roughly) 18" x 30". The previous owner had installed a propane fireplace insert that vented up through the chimney. I've since removed this insert. The inside of the firebox is sheet metal on three side with what I take to be a steel smoke shelf (not sure if this is the correct term!) which slopes upward and provides a gap of roughly 7". Much of this steel, however, has suffered from water damage with sections that are rusty and cracked. The culprit, as far as I can tell, is the chimney cap. Otherwise, the masonry itself seems to be in very good condition.

Our house is moderately sized (2800 Sq ft.) and has a rather rambling floor plan (it's 100 years old and has been added on to twice). Our goal is to heat as much of the house as possible.

So here's our situation: