1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

bought used pdvc

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by breklaw, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. breklaw

    breklaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Hi folks, havn't been here for quite some time, looks and feels different! Picked up a second pdvc off CL for $300, as is for parts type sale, owner had auger/ and motor problems and said it might need a control board. I put new auger bearings and motors in, filed down some rough spots on the lower auger, and I am getting used to the new style controls- my main stove was built in 03 so no auto ignite. How do I check the heat mode, and how do I "reboot" the control board? I notice the top auger motor runs very slowly, then goes full speed for a while, then back to a very slow spin. I have a 110 volt pilot lamp on the motor terminals, and it never shuts off. Has anybody had any luck repairing the control boards? I am going to pull it out and replace the triac for starters. It may be shorted. Also, has anybody ever used a basement window for their vent and OAK? I am thinking of putting second stove down there. Happy New Year! Bill Walker

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. motorbykemike

    motorbykemike New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    i am also new here , well new to pellet stoves that is

    i bought a used 25pdv a few weeks ago, took it apart and inspected/cleaned everything , replaced the bearings and the lower auger motor , gave it a good cleaning again after whackin it w/ a rubber mallet for a while and stuck it in the basement .

    vent is through a window , house is cinderblock/brick facade . i removed one of the 2 panes of glass , fabricated an alum panel that covers both panes for the outside as well as one for the inside , used a wall thimble and insulated between the window frame/glass and inner alum panel , about 4" space.

    everything will be siliconed in place in the spring after i do a slight vent adjust and thorough clean/inspect . i will then run the aok through the "other" pane w/ its own thimble kit , i have all the stuff for the aok but right now have the flex pipe run on the floor over to the man door in the basement right now , door is super drafty

    i have a box fan on low feeding into the room where the stove is to circulate the air , basement is partitioned into 3 areas

    i use my boiler for dhw and backup heat and it has only fired a couple times on less than 25 deg cold/windy more than 15-mph nights to meet t-stat that is set at 68 , works out as it warms the far away bedrooms

    pellet stove is under the kitchen , the previously coldest room in the house , now the floor is nice and toasty

    my boiler and washer and dryer are in the same room as the stove , dryer run time is drasticly lower and "boiler room" is 83-86deg where before it was mid 50's if i was lucky and the floor was freezing to walk on w/ bare feet , cold enough that you did not want to , it's warm now , at least in the bare floor boiler room area

    it took 2-3 days for the basement to really come up to temp and heat start radiating through the unisulated bare floor joists enough so that the boiler would not fire for t-stat on 40 deg days/20deg nights, but once it's warm , it's nice

    i used 1/4 tank of oil in 3 weeks before the stove and maybe 1/16 tank in the 3 weeks since

    16 bags burnt
  3. h2ochild

    h2ochild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Pinelands of NJ
    To check mode: unplug stove,plug back in and quickly press the blower speed up and down arrows together at the same time .Release, and a letter will appear in the heat range window. I believe the PVDC is supposed to be mode D...For the reset of a board read this thread post #9 . http://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/englander-25-pdvc-england-stove-works.95066/#post-1254685
  4. motorbykemike

    motorbykemike New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    do the pdv stoves have a "mode" also ?

    if so where should it be ?

    i was told by the tech when i called englander that the lower 3 should be 4-9-1 , it was at 1-9-1, i found it runs best a 2-9-1 w/ a 3-4 heat and 9 convection blower setting
  5. h2ochild

    h2ochild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Pinelands of NJ
    I believe the PDV is supposed to be mode C.
  6. motorbykemike

    motorbykemike New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    can it be checked and adjusted while the stove is running ?

    what does the mode do ?
  7. h2ochild

    h2ochild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    120
    Loc:
    Pinelands of NJ
    No to adjust with stove running.. Allows same boards to be used with various models of stoves, with only the modes changed to accommodate model.
  8. imacman

    imacman Guest

    That doesn't sound right. AFAIR, the PDV is supposed to be at 4-6-1 to start with. The LBA at 9 will blow all the heat right through the stove and it won't have any time for the heat exchanger to pull much out.

    Control board reset and mode check have to be done with stove off. The lower 3 buttons can be changed "on the fly".

    Don't forget....no pics = it never happened! LOL
  9. CTguy9230

    CTguy9230 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    312
    Loc:
    Northwest CT
    i beleive my PDV was set to 6-4-1 from the factory
  10. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I thought that was for the PDVC, but maybe their both the same....I thought the PDV was 4-6-1. Not a bad place to start anyway.

Share This Page