Branches/Twigs Storage - fear of insects...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

olliek

Aug 19, 2011
South Shore, MA
Hey Folks - I am in my first year of using a wood burning stove (Jotul Castine). I own a little bit of woodland with my property and have recently cut two trees down. I store the split logs outside to dry but have a boat load of small branches and twigs. I will build a bigger shed next year outside where I will be able to store those as well but in the meantime I was contemplating putting the small stuff in my garage. Now I remember that the home inspector said when we bought the house never to have more than one days worth of wood in the house and also not to store any wood in the garage because of wood-boring insects. Does this hold true for twigs and branches as well (to be used for kindling and fire starting)?

And on a second thought - are you guys burning the bigger branches as rounds or do you split everything? And I mean a couple of inches in diameter?

Now out into the cold, cutting more stuff down!

Thanks in advance!

You can stove wood outside without a shed, or store it outside with just a top cover such as a piece of plywood or metal roofing. A piece of roofing might be a cheap way to store the twigs and keep them dry. I leave my firewood uncovered but always try to keep kindling covered because I want the kindling to be as dry as possible.