Burning 24/7

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Turfguy

Hearth Supporter
Dec 13, 2010
Niskayuna, NY
What are the advantages of burning overnight and while at work during the day. My wife thinks I am crazy for burning when nobody is home or awake. I told her that it keeps the Natural Gas FHA furnace off while we are at work and overnight. Doesn't seem to be a compelling enough answer. Suggestion?

background:
We just bought and had our stove installed. I'm new to wood burning and she grew up with a fireplace in her home. Her parents put in a insert two months before our install and only burn in the evenings to take the chill out. I'm looking to save us some $. But everytime I buy wood she keeps making comments like "how much more do you need to keep getting." Only bought two cords worth of Logs to cut and split so far.

You hit the big one - keeping the furnace off (or running as little as possible). Also, having a fire in the morning before you leave might mean having coals left in the stove when you return, making starting the evening fire a lot easier. If you have the wood, and it is cheaper than your other heating alternative, burn away and save some money! Cheers!