Burning confusion

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

loneeagle15

Hearth Supporter
Feb 12, 2007
Montana
Ok I have a Mansfield wood stove and was wondering what I'm looking for when I burn this is my first year of burning so I am new to this.
1 when I start it up I have good flames going until I close the door then they just tend too die out and leave me with coals is this what I want (I have my oak lever all of the way to the left)?
2 when I do burn I will put in 3-4 splits and it keeps my house toasty at about 80-85 degrees for around 10-14 hours but I never get secondary burn to kick in is this normal?
3I did fill my firebox full 1 time and got secondary burn but my house was at 95 for about 16 hours will low burns without the secondary cause too much creosote build up?
4 If so how often should I go for a really hot burn?
Sorry for all of the dumb newbie questions
Thanks JD

I will let the Hearthstone burners fill in the blanks but I have never seen a stove where you could start a good burn by just leaving the door cracked "momentarily" like the Mansfield manual calls for. Most are going to take fifteen or twenty minutes with the door ajar to get a good burn going before you close it. It has to warm the chimney up to establish a draft that will pull through the primary air inlet.