Caddy wood add-on furnace help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KeithTalent

Dec 26, 2017
Grand Forks, BC
Hey all,

We just bought a house in a colder climate and the heating system is a gas furnace with a Caddy add-on wood burning furnace. I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff so was hoping y'all could assist me in getting this running properly.

I've started fires the past three days, but no matter how big I make the fire or what I set the thermostat at (it's an SBI wired thermostat) the temperature never seems to go above ~66F and if I crank the SBI and the gas thermostat, it mainly just pumps gas (at least as far as I can tell). I bought new batteries for the thermostat and that did not make a difference.

I tried reading through the manual but it really did not help at all. Does anyone have any ideas on what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for the help.

KT

Hey all,

We just bought a house in a colder climate and the heating system is a gas furnace with a Caddy add-on wood burning furnace. I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff so was hoping y'all could assist me in getting this running properly.

I've started fires the past three days, but no matter how big I make the fire or what I set the thermostat at (it's an SBI wired thermostat) the temperature never seems to go above ~66F and if I crank the SBI and the gas thermostat, it mainly just pumps gas (at least as far as I can tell). I bought new batteries for the thermostat and that did not make a difference.