1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Castile Insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by tonyd, Nov 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tonyd

    tonyd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Hughesville Md
    I went by the hearth store today looking to purchase material to reline the chimney. Talking with the sales/tech rep, he asked why I needed to reline the chimney. I told him I was currently using a 5' flex up threw the damper and thought It was better to go the whole length. HE TALKED ME OUT OF IT. He said It wasn't necessary with the Quad Castile so, SAVE your MONEY. Reading everything on this forum. I was trying to convince him it was necessary. I left with my money in my pocket. Has anyone tried it both ways and noticed any changes. Any pros or cons from any of you who install. Thanks Tony

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. flueinc

    flueinc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    porter me.
    If you do not run the liner all the way up the chimney you will have to pull the stove out and clean the fly ash and soot out at the end of the heating season which takes a lot of time and makes a lot of mess. You will have to install it to nfpa 12.4.5 It is much easier to put the liner in so you can just clean the flue and stove without removing everything.
  3. tonyd

    tonyd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Hughesville Md
    nfpa 12,4,5 Im not sure what your talking about? Thanks For the reply.
  4. flueinc

    flueinc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    porter me.
    I should have put nfpa 211 12.4.5it is on page 38
  5. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    Do you currently have a sealed block off plate in the damper so that no exhaust can come back into the house?
  6. tonyd

    tonyd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Hughesville Md
    He also said, because there is an exhaust fan, it creates its own draft.
  7. tonyd

    tonyd Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Loc:
    Hughesville Md
    Yes . Its been blocked off and sealed. He said Quadrafire did many tests to be able to print it in the owners manual. I asked about ash and he said no clean out tee is necessary. He cleans stoves on a seasonal basis and has had no problems with the setup. I was their with my 22yr old daughter and she kept asking why I was trying to waste my money. I left with my money, but she insisted I take her to lunch. Money well spent.
  8. Nicholas440

    Nicholas440 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    346
    Loc:
    Northeast Oh
    I have a Castile insert also and mine was installed without putting a liner all the way up in the chimney. I had removed the damper and made an aluminum plate to fit the opening to seal it off a few years ago when I had gas vent free logs, so when my Castile installer came to install it he took the plate I made and cut a hole in it to slide the vent through and up into the chimeny about 4 feet, he also packed the area where this plate fits with insulation, and then replaced the aluminum plate and sealed all around with the high temp silicone sealer to seal any air leaks.

    This works very well, and I will have my unit serviced and cleaned yearly, so fly ash isnt an issue for me. The chimney is only 18 feet from bottom to top and I have a large cap on top which I had with the fireplace. The draft I'm getting is very good this way and the installer told me it wasnt necessary to run the liner all the way to the top, and to save the money instead. He's been installing stoves and inserts for 15 years so I trusted his decision, and he and his brother are a very well known reliable stove supply and installation company in my area. This instal also meets the code requirement in my county as well.
  9. jtp10181

    jtp10181 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,724
    Loc:
    Madison, WI
    As long as it has a sealed block off plate it is legit. Only problem will be getting all the loose ash off the top of the plate as it accumulates over time. Although it night not cause any problems.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page