Catalyst help, how do you know.....

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

My Oslo heats my home

Minister of Fire
Sep 20, 2010
South Shore, MA
I have a Dutchwest 2461 large, a catalyst, that I am doing some repairs to for a friend. I have broken down the stove to find a few minor replacement parts that need to be ordered before we can put this back together and do an install. The issue I'm having is the CAT itself. I have never worked on a catalyst stove before and have no idea if this CAT is in good shape to use or not. All the other items that house the CAT seem to be in good shape, everything is in working order and mostly rust free.
Can someone tell me what I need to do in this situation...Thanks

If the stove is over 5-6 years old and hasn't had the catalyst replaced it is probably safe to say it should be or is close to needing replaced. The only true way to tell if it is good is to put it in the stove and fire it up to see if it will light off. If it takes a long time to get it to light off or you have trouble keeping it lit off it definitely needs replaced.

Other than the test of firing and lighting it, along with it's age...is there a physical exam that will tell me anything? As far as I can see it is in great shape, no wear or loss to report. I'm guessing it is a replacement from sometime recent in the stoves life, you can tell someone has had the top off and the guts apart before.

Based on your description, it sounds like the cat is OK. Install it and give it a burn - unless the cat is crumbling, that's really the only way to see if it is working.