Ceiling fan

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Forrest77

Aug 17, 2014
OH
For those with a ceiling fan in the room where your stove is, do you set the fan so the air is pulled up or air pushing down?

When I am heating my house, the fan is set to pull the air up towards the ceiling. The fan blades spin clockwise. I reverse them (counter clockwise) when it is cooling season.

Yah, thats what I am doing now but wasn't sure if that was best practice. Im a wood insert newbie learning more each visit to the forum. My next challenge is to get the air flowing through the doorways without fans everywhere. I have a 2 year old that grabs everything and twins due in about 2 weeks.

We live in a tri-level and the stove is at the east side of the house facing west to the rest of the house. We have a gas furnace and using the stove to heat the living areas on the main level and let the gas furnace heat the lower level and upper level where the bedrooms are.

My stove sits in an area in the basement where I have a drop down from the ceiling where my HVAC ducting runs. So I use the ceiling fan over the stove on normal to push the heat down so it gets past that area and can then migrate throughout the house.