Chimney cleaning - am I being reasonable?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

lsirois

Jun 14, 2008
Amherst, NH
I had my chimney cleaned in October. The two individuals that did the job swept the chimney from the bottom-up and, after I asked why, explained to me that it would be too dangerous to do it from the top-down because it was raining quite heavily outside. The also ran the brush up and down once. That was it..done.... This seems like a professional company. They are the ones who installed my stove and did it well. I am not an expert, but I expected them to do a top-down sweep and at least run the brush up and down a few times. The stainless flue could not have been that dirty (burned 2 cords), but I still felt short changed. I complained and the owner quickly replied and offered to re-sweep the chimney at no charge.

So, am I being reasonable here? What should I have expected?

As far as I am concerned a professional chimney sweeping includes inspecting the chimney and cleaning the cap. Neither of which can be done from inside. If it is raining they should call to reschedule. And it should be fine with you.

burnt 2 cords allready. michigan has been unseasonably warm this year. Ive gone through 2/3 cord

Makes sense to "me" that the Cap should be inspected and cleaned. I even expect that they would not only Inspect the chimney from outside, but I ALSO expect them to climb into the attic, and check the pipe from the ceiling in my living room, to the outside of the roof. I want them to look at the mounting brackets, ......well, every inch of the system.