Chimney Cleaning

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hitchy

Dec 15, 2009
Northern NJ
Hi To All

Total Newbie here. Got a couple of questions and know after reading for quite a few months I have come to the right place. First let me qualify I have a Quadrafire 5100i, a Quadrafire 3100i and a Hearthstone Equinox.

Ok

Question 1

While I do know that getting a professional chimney sweep/ cleaning is a must on the priority list I was just wondering if in the in between times if I can even get to it is there anything wrong with cleaning my liner my self from the inside upwards? (I realize this is not the standard way or even the best). I don't run it as hot as you all seem too, on a regular basis 400-500. Keeps me near 75 on mid 20 degree days and nights. I use smaller splits too. Heats up quicker. My chimney is way to up there for me to climb, and I can't always get a Sweep out to clean at my beck and call...lol I also realize I need to be mindful of my screen on top too.

Question 2

Do the flames have to be always engulfing the secondary tubes all the time in order to be burning the smoke and gases?

See I told you I was new...

Thanks for any help

John

Check out a product named "soot eater". It allows you to clean the chimney from the bottom up. Amazon has the best deal.

There's nothing wrong with cleaning your liner from the inside. You'll need some real flexible rods and a nice soft brush and it will work fine. Just make sure you at least check the chimney cap before lighting a fire.