Chimney help around soffit (pics included)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

KeithD

Sep 22, 2023
Ontario
Hi all, I’m a complete novice so bear with me

We would like to install a wood stove in our basement. Nothing fancy, just something to warm up approx 1000 sq ft. Not a primary heat source.

The stove has to go in the corner. Pipe out through the raised foundation up the wall.

I contacted a local installer and basically was told it’s impossible to do what I want. Would not give me a quote. He says the soffit is not wide enough to go through and it’s illegal to go around. Mentioned building a chase but it would be prohibitively expensive.

Here’s where the chimney must go. 16’ is from the ground to the soffit
E8B6D230-8470-47EE-90FE-C6E103E822CD.jpeg

Here is the width of the soffit. 12.5 inches from the siding j trim to the fascia board

7BBA1BF4-6FA5-4464-8CA1-3129FC8C19A6.jpeg

What is possible here? I would think that a 6” pipe with an 8” outer diameter could be flashed in there, allowing 2” clearance, the fascia board may have to be terminated in front to allow clearance but the trough could remain?

Other options?
Could the chimney be brought out further to just avoid the soffit all tighter? I don’t see any brackets long enough for that
Notch the entire soffit, would have to run a downspout parallel to the chimney)
Any ideas?

Thanks to any help, we will resort to gas if wood is impossible.

A pellet stove might be an option. I think they typically have smaller diameter flue's.