1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Chimney maximum height?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by jschardine, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,696
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Top or bottom they have to be removed for brushing the chimney. At least if it was mounted up top in the liner at the flashing it would be a no brainer to take it out for cleaning the chimney. Easier than getting a lot of chimney caps off. If would be more prone to creosote buildup up top but then the chimney cap is a creosote factory too and I doubt that a chimney fire has ever originated thirty or forty feet from the fire box.

    Also, if one has to be installed I would darn sure rather it be supported by holes through the flashing than the walls of a .005 liner.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    Thats exactly where chimney fires originate, Most creosote formation is in the last third of the chimney pipe.
    Your sugestion on having the damper up top is a good one, if i were to put one in thats where i would put it. I still wouldnt recomend it, based on the manufacture says its a no no, even though the dealer says its ok, in the case that there is a problem it will be up to the dealerto fix it with no manufacture support. That usually doesnt go over very well.
  3. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,696
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    OK. I'm checking out of this one. I was just curious.
  4. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS

    They usually don't originate there, BB, but the ones I've seen start at the firebox and work their way up the stack until they eventually hit the creosote motherlode. Then you see some sparks fly.

    BTW, just as a point of information, I have an 8" damper on my boiler which I use all the time, but it's located before the cleanout tee so that it's not in the way when the time comes to run a brush up the stack.
  5. MountainStoveGuy

    MountainStoveGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,629
    Loc:
    Northern Colorado Mountains
    Thanks for clarifying that Eric, i knew that the top third had something to do with it!
  6. elkimmeg

    elkimmeg Guest

    What about a motorized damper top or bottom controledby motor opening x amount many oil burners have them ina 6" connector pipe
  7. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    What is the inside diameter of your chimney? Does it have a clay liner already inside in good shape? What about a direct connect? Since you have such a tall chimney any stove may draft good even if the chimney diameter is larger than the stoves flue collar?
  8. jschardine

    jschardine New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    I have a clay flue liner that has a 9 1/4" x 12 1/2" inside diameter. It's a newer house, and the flue is in perfect shape.
  9. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    Ask your dealer if that size flue meets the maximum diameter flue size for the stove you are looking at. A direct connect to the flue may work, since the chimney is so tall. And It would save alot of money.
  10. elkimmeg

    elkimmeg Guest

    Code wise the only direct connect to that size chimney that has a chance of working is from an 8" flue collar
    if an outside exposed chimney evenit is too large for even *" inter chimney code wise it would be ok
    You must have a rather large fire place opening, for the mason to have used a modular clay liner, instead of the conventional 12 /12

    The croos-sectionar area of that flue is more than 200% larger than code will allow for a 6" flue collar

    There is another way to look at it besides stove specs look at the liner manufacture's specs What if you used 6.5" diameter liner would that add to the supported height? The stove manufacture claim a height according to using 6" but what if 6.5 is used and the height is supported by the liner manufacturer. Check out liner manufacture's specs . Is there any way you can place an in line damper in the connector pipe if needed?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page