Chimney possible for insert install?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

thibbard8

Nov 2, 2022
New Hampshire
Hi all, I bought a house about a year and a half ago and when we bought the house we were told the chimney was too “rotted” and not safe to use. I know nothing about masonry or chimneys but am mechanically inclined - mechanic and machinist by trade-

my original plan was to have it repaired, had a chimney guy come out and he said that would be a significant amount of money better option is to wood stove and pipe it out existing chimney which he said was in OK shape.

I wanted to do an insert to have it recessed in as we have the raised hearth as seen in attached pictures. I went to the stove shop and he seemed to think that wasn’t possible and wanted to have another guy look at it. I’m trying to avoid spending that extra money so I’m looking to get some advice from the real geniuses… the internet.

So my questions are, is it possible to just cut out This metal insert and recess in then wood insert and then do 6” pipe out the flue? What is the next best option if not possible. Thank you.
1A3BCB6A-C5AA-4273-93FE-79CB0FA8A660.jpeg5D62A375-543D-418A-A561-4BC9A6E18B35.jpeg5B6C48A1-F600-4759-84FC-18A9036E7395.jpeg90C40855-A495-4C82-ACD7-98089D02BE5F.jpegE2F04936-8D1C-455D-9B3E-BE739C8A034B.jpeg847D2CF6-8E21-480E-84E5-148914F9096E.jpeg

994FB80D-3D70-45C8-ACE3-8CF52C72C31A.jpeg CF641D79-3564-452E-8147-3FC8B3A5CC2D.jpeg