1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Clicking noise from my Englander 25-PDVC

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by SJohndro, Dec 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SJohndro

    SJohndro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Hi all,

    I am hoping someone can provide me with some insight into an issue I am having with my Englander 25-PDVC. While my stove is running, there is a clicking noise coming from the stove that is off and on. It is not a constant clicking, but it is quite annoying.

    Also, there is a squealing or whining sound that comes from the stove off and on as well.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Steve

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Ridgefire

    Ridgefire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    I have the same stove.

    What I hear in mine is the upper auger kicking in every so often to drop pellets down to the lower auger. That might be the clicking sound.

    As far as the squealing sound that also sounds like the auger.


    I'm sure someone with more knowledge will come along and give a better answer.
  3. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Yeah - if it's a sounds that happens every 30 seconds or so, it's probably something with the top auger.

    My top auger squeals a little bit now since I bought some Penningotn pellets, which are VERY dusty. Every few days, I run about two or 3 cups worth of pellets mixed with dry graphite through the system and it clears it up for a few days.
  4. SJohndro

    SJohndro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Can you tell me where I might be able to get some dry graphite? Also, do you have any suggestions on how to make the pellets not stay to the side of the hopper and make my stove go out?

    Thanks!
  5. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    You can get the dry graphite at any local hardware store, like ACE... I heard HD sells it by where they make keys.

    To get the pellets to slide down the chute, I have heard of people lightly sanding the sides of the hopper, or saying that dry graphite helps.

    Englander told me to use 1 tbls of dry graphite in about a coffee can's worth of pellets... But not to burn the graphite pellets. I couldn't figure out how to manage that, though (not burn them), so I only run about a cupful through at a time and just burn them... But just be aware that Englander said NOT to burn them.
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    we do not worry about them burning (usually i try not to burn them so i can run them back through again) , but graphite is an inert substance and may not readily light up , it does not hurt to burn them and is not an issue that will bring harm to the unit
  7. Ridgefire

    Ridgefire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Ok dumb question....how do you run them through with out burning them?
  8. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    graphite , being inert , if enough of a coating is present , it doesnt allow combustion in some circumstances, i usually disable the igniter when performing this task anyway that way i know they wont start , and i just put em back in the zip lock til next time
  9. Ridgefire

    Ridgefire New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Ok that makes sense now.
  10. SJohndro

    SJohndro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    How do you disable the igniter?
  11. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    unplug the wires, or if im feeling lazy , drop the unit into diagnostic and run the pellets through without turning on the stove here's how http://www.englanderstoves.com/help/PelletStove/diagnostic_mode04.html

    just use the steps that engage the exhaust blower, then the top and bottom augers, and let em feed through. do not use the rest of the steps they are not needed, but the exhaust blower is needed to close the vac switches, and the front door must be closed
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page