Coaling or dancing flames, which should I shoot for?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

czach

Dec 8, 2006
So I've been running this CEMI Concept II insert for about 10 years now and finally found the manual. Oddly enough I've been running it with the top baffle upside down. Go figure. Well, it's in the right way and according to the manual the purpose is to make some of the exhaust circle back around to the front where it's mixed with the incoming air and ignited.

Seems to work; with a nice fire going and the doors closed I can see that hypnotic slow flame clouds in there. Neat. However the question is this:

The insert will spend a lot of time with 50% load (because it has burned the rest) and that will be a super-hot glowing coal pile+black log with coals on it. Is this good? Should I be aiming for clouds of flames all the time, or is this still ok?

Second question is temps. Currently I have my temp sensor mounted above the air baffles, so it can measure the temps above the insert burn box. I try to keep it between 300-450 degrees. Too hot? Too cold? The manual says something about exhaust air temps being 900 degrees. Um, that's a bit hotter. Should I measure temperature at the doors and if so what's a good temp to run at for best combustion?

Keeping nice and warm, just want to be efficient as possible.

Chris

Chris Z said: