Consistent Heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Burn Time

Nov 30, 2015
Wisconsin
How can I generate consistent heat in an EPA stove?

I'm still learning my Hearthstone Mansfield soapstone stove. Thanks to great advice from BrowningBAR and others, I've mastered re-firing from live coals and maximizing the burn time using the pipe damper and primary air control. I'm using between 5 and 7 splits of seasoned ash on each re-fire.

Even so, the advice to burn in complete cycles produces a wide range of temperatures at top center. I would like to keep the temperature more steady.

I re-fire when the stove top temperature has dropped to between 200 and 250 degrees, not lower, because that assures that I still have a deep, hot bed of coals. After fast ignition of the new splits, I will shut the stack damper full and shut the primary air control to about 40% open after about 20 or 30 minutes and about 425 degrees (or higher if I forget to monitor the stove). Then I shut the primary air full after another 5 or 10 minutes, so that I get plenty of lava-like, lazy flame and secondary combustion.

The problem, in my opinion, is that the stove top temperature then goes in to a steady decline until I re-fire. Apparently it is poor practice to re-stoke the stove with a couple of splits in mid-cycle. With my 25 year old VC Resolute Acclaim, I can keep the stove top temperature rather constant by adding new splits from time to time until I let the coals burn down for ash removal.