Couple of questions regarding creosote

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

egclassic

Feeling the Heat
Jan 1, 2011
SW Ohio
I am new to wood burning, at least for home heating. I just had a Hampton HI300 insert installed this week and we love it.
I have been doing alot of reading/lurking on this site absorbing information, lots of good stuff.
My question however, is, how worried about creosote do I need to be? I know not to burn wet wood and stuff like that, but what is everyone's take on these creosote removers I see all over the place? I know they are not a substitute for an annual sweep, but does anyone here use them occasionally, or are they a waste of money? Also I have seen them in log form, powder form and even a product you spray on wood before burning?

Check your chimney once a month this burning season to see if you need to change anything. Don't go looking for answers to a problem that you don't have yet. I used all of that stuff in my pre-EPA stove days and have not used any of it in the five seasons with the new stove.

Creosote removers are a waste of money if you burn correctly, if you burn wet wood or not hot enough then they help to dry it out to make it easier to clean. Personally I have never used them, never had a reason to.

I have found the creosote removers to be useless. Tried them a couple of times with not luck. Nothing beats a good old fashioned brush.

I agree with the earlier post about checking your chimney regularly when you first start burning. This helps you determined if there is a need for more frequent cleanings.