1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

craig i need some help with the btu nfor coal cause nothing makes sense

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by lime4x4, Dec 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lime4x4

    lime4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Loc:
    Northeast Pa
    i have no idea..I know the dvc-500 is around 150.00 bucks more then the magnum stoker.I'm not even sure yet what i want to do.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Well, I'm watching this solution. I think that next year I want to put a coal stove or a small wood stove in my basement, and I'm leaning towards coal because of burn times. A Harmon Mark I or a Morso 1410 coal are the two stoves in the running for coal. If wood, Its a Lopi Answer, or Patriot, Morso 1410 wood, or Osburn 1800 free standing stove.

    Really, I thing a Harmon Mark I is the front runner, because it's made in PA, and they seem to have a good reputation, BUT.... If you don't get satisfaction from them, I consider their reputation damaged.

    I hope your listening Harmon!!!!!
  3. lime4x4

    lime4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Loc:
    Northeast Pa
    i was thinking if i have such a strong draft wouldn't i have a problem keeping a coal bed burning wide and long with the restrictor plate wide open??
    Or is my thinking flawed yet once again?
  4. Mike Wilson

    Mike Wilson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,003
    Loc:
    Orient Point, NY
    Yeah, I've been trolling the Lime vs. Harman thread here and on NEPA. Scares me away from the Magnum. I like the 500... direct vent eliminates all these problems. If they'd make a way to attach it to a 6" HVAC duct I'd buy it in an instant. (Dane, HARMAN, are you listening??? To Lime? To me? To Anyone? Consider this free market research.)

    -- Mike

    PS - the Morso 1410 looks like a nice stove as well.
  5. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    WHAT? Finally, someone else who's seen, looked at a 1410. It's a LOT smaller than the big Harmons...more in line with the Mark I, but I think it looks a bit more old fasioned... nicer. Becides...the local Morso dealer claims the only difference 1410 wood vs 1410 coal is the plates to direct the coal at the grates, and the addition of the lower air control. Otherwise, same stove...thus.... remove director plates, close lower air control, and presto...small wood burner. Not EPA approved, but 20 bucks says it performs indentically to the 1410 wood version.

    I'm thinking of one for my 400 sqft family room plus lower level office. One web site claims 12+ hour burn times with coal.

    beats the 4-5 (2 in reality) burn times of a VC Aspen, Jotul 602, or 1410 wood.

    What do ya think Mike?

    What sucks is the chimney will cost as much as the stove!!!! Stove is 989 here.
  6. Mike Wilson

    Mike Wilson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,003
    Loc:
    Orient Point, NY
    I've been looking at that little stove for a while now. Its basically the same stove they sell in Euroland as the Morso Squirrel, which is a multifuel. The damned thing burns peat too, if you happen to live near a bog. I was interested in installing it in a small room in the house where I spend a lot of time, and using a power vent instead of a chimney. I already have the Jotul to feed 5 times a day, I didn't need another mouth. I had 2 things in my head, a Magnum Stoker in the basement plumbed into an air duct in the main atrium of the house, or perhaps this little guy in the room I mentioned. Anything large in here would heat me out of the room.
  7. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Sounds similar Mike...Any info on the powervent?
  8. stovemanken

    stovemanken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    The DVC-500 is basicially a Magnum with DV capability through Harman-built propietary pipe. Harman makes this pipe this way, because HVAC pipe wasn 't (isn't?) built to his standards when this stove was designed. The pipe is all 316 Stainess to prevent perforation which would be a bad thing as well all agree.

    The DVC is THE most expensive Harman you can buy. I've always liked the stove, but you need more input from folks that have lived with them for 10 years concerning reliabilty and performance.

    I know there is a resurging interest in Anthracite burners, but it is still a minuscule portion of the market, considering pellet and wood stoves (and high efficiecy gas). IOW, I wouldn't advise Harman to spend $100,000-$200,000 in R&D to develop a new Anthracite burner, at least at this time.

    SMK
  9. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    so why can you connect it to a 6" pipe? I know you said HVAC, but why not 6" stainless pipe? When I was looking at Pellet stoves early in my stove investigation phase, one dealer told me that a pellet stove could be vented into any chimney as long as there was a good seal between the pellet vent pipe and the chimney. This could be done since the power vent of the pellet stove would push the exhaust up and out. Would a Harmon direct vent do the same?
  10. Mike Wilson

    Mike Wilson New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,003
    Loc:
    Orient Point, NY
    Warren,

    No, not for the flue gasses, for the heat. The flue is separate. The Magnum Stoker has a heat shroud over the back and top of it, and on the top is a panel that pops off to accept a 6" round HVAC duct. So you can have the stove heating one floor, and the fan behind the shroud also blows air up and into the 6" duct, thus heating another floor (well... just not in Lime's case).

    -- Mike
  11. stovemanken

    stovemanken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Might we be interested in starting a new thread as this discussion is pretty far off the original topic of Btu values of Anthracite coal?

    SMK
  12. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    I did....2 hits so far.
  13. lime4x4

    lime4x4 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Loc:
    Northeast Pa
    Well the stove is finally working great.The dealer tech bench tested the feed assembly.he found the feed motor was failing so all is right with the world now...Well atleast my world anyway
  14. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    28,161
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Finally! Glad to hear that sumbitch is heating lime. Also glad that dealer finally got off of his butt.
  15. wg_bent

    wg_bent Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,248
    Loc:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    So now when you want to give it the acid test, it's 60 degrees out. So, you roasting the old chestnuts in the house today?

    Really glad to hear this was finally resolved. Too bad I couldn't convince you to take it off you hands for 50 bucks though! ;-)
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page