Cut-Split-Delivered "Seasoned" Wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinwburke

Hearth Supporter
Nov 5, 2009
Central Mass
S0 I am a bit of a novice here..a little unseasoned if you will........going to go back to a woodstove this winter and plan to be a little less ignorant this time (try at least). I can cut and season some of my own wood for next year but need to buy wood for this year. If you but wood from a local source...how "seasoned" is it, and is there any way to assess how good it is before they dump a few cords in the yard? Is there a BBB for firewood suppliers? I live in Central Ma and do not know of any reputable companies.

I assume the wood will be only partially seasoned and not really "ripe" till next year?

Thanks for any input...great forum here.

Kevin,