Dead Red Oak

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Plow Boy

Feeling the Heat
Nov 14, 2012
Iron Station, NC
I was riding though my trail today and found a pretty good size red oak DOA. I can't believe I haven't spotted it before. But in my defense I just started paying more attention since I've been burning wood
uploadfromtaptalk1373504291217.jpg

And of course I got it hung up and had to pull it down with the tractor. What can I say I'm a pro. :cool:

Not a leaf on it as u can see.
uploadfromtaptalk1373504466844.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1373504508323.jpg

Got it cut up for the most part. Will bring it up to the house tomorrow for some more fun at the splitter :D

uploadfromtaptalk1373504694181.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1373504706701.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1373504727217.jpg
uploadfromtaptalk1373504743842.jpg

Reactions: ScotO and Plow Boy
what are you carrying it out of the woods with? That red thing, what is it? Or who makes it? Its got regular truck wheels on it.

That is my snapper ground cruiser. :)

Reactions: ScotO
Nice score ! Don't know how you did it in the heat & humidity .

Thanks, I did most of it after a evening thunderstorm when it had cooled off a little bit. It wasn't to bad in the woods

Get back out on your paths and see what else you can find. You will be amazed like you said when you start focusing

I saw another one right behind this one, didnt look too hard at it yet. I just noticed it was also dead. I have a very nice stand of mature hardwoods and plan to keep it that way. I try to find dead ones or weed out undesirables. And of course get from other people. :)