Defiance Company fireplace insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Disturbed1

Feb 11, 2018
Illinois
I am new to this thread so please bear with me if this has been discussed before. I recently acuired a Defiance Company stove from my Father in Law for $100. I'm turning our garage into our master bedroom and plan on putting it in there as a main heat source. It will be free standing, will it be ok on just fireboard? Do I line just the bottom with the fire brick? Do I need a damper in my stove pipe? Do I need blowers? Any insight will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Welcome. This is a Defiant freestanding stove, correct? There are a couple issues with this plan. First, a wood stove in a bedroom is against code in most jurisdictions and second, why use an old inefficient stove for this purpose? If permitted, there are affordable modern stoves that will burn cleaner and use less wood.

It's actually a insert from what Info I can find on it. I have checked with our code enforcement officer and there are no regulations concerning where it is put. I' going to use it because it was cheap, and worked great for my grandmother In law for years to heat her whole home. And I'm getting two sections of new pipe in exchange for the garage door I took out to frame in the garage. I will try to post a pic. Of it tomorrow.