Do I have to use the fan, to keep the insert at it's most efficient state, or can I conserve electri

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
You are stressing too much over this. When you burn with it you should have the blower running. The most efficient is on high. It may be too warm if the weather is mild so low can be used. It uses less than a 60 watt light bulb. ZBurn it and enjoy...then burn it some more!

I'm not an insert guy, I have free-standing stoves...but I am an engineer, and I stayed in a Holiday Inn Express last night. You definitely want to have the fan/blower at least available to you. Without a fan, an insert offers only radiant heat and a bit of convection off the front face to the room. The rest of the heat the insert produces pretty much goes up the stovepipe. A fan takes air from the room and circulates it around the firebox, collecting heat, and delivers it back to the living space...forced convection. Much more efficient use of the BTU's you're producing in the insert. You may not always want to have the fan running, but when you do, you'll really appreciate the fact that you have it. Rick

Not stressing here, Burntime. I actually enjoy the learning and I do nothing without learning everything I can about it. Kind of sick, that way..............

I've got an interior chimney with an insert. If the blower is on, the downstairs (open concept) gets warm and if the blower is off, the upstairs gets warm. In the cold months I juggle between the two to keep the house the temp I want.