1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Do I need a 460?

Post in 'The Gear' started by jlightning, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. jlightning

    jlightning Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    2012-09-22_09-08-41_384.jpg

    I just picked up my 460! I cant wait to use it but im off to work. Its wearing a 20" bar w/ a chisel chain. I figure i will pick up a 28" bar soon now that i have a saw that can handle one! Thank for the advice everyone!
    smokinj, DexterDay and Dairyman like this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jlightning

    jlightning Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    The guy at the shop said that if i would want to tune the carb i would have to bring it to the shop? He said that for some reason i would not be able to do it myself? Is this true?
  3. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Should just take a small flathead screwdriver? Thats how mine is? Maybe for warranty reasons?

    Keep it "Four stroking" and its all good.
  4. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,972
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    HAha, I can tune a saw but not a fish! Listen to the sound wave you eiter get it or you dont! ;)
    http://web.archive.org/web/20051018212959/www.madsens1.com/sawtune.htm
    Thistle and amateur cutter like this.
  5. MasterMech

    MasterMech Guest

    Should have gotten a scrench, safety glasses, and a tuning screwdriver with the saw. They ship with every new saw.

    Jay's link is good but I like this one better. Absolutely no reason you can't DIY but if you're not comfortable with it then having the dealer do it is probably for the best.



    Big mofo of a motor makes it real easy to hear what's going on.

Share This Page