1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Do I need a cathedral ceiling box

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by ymurf, Dec 2, 2012.

  1. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Been doing some research on line about installing my Quadrafire 7100 and flue pipe. Flue pipe is the air cooled pipe.I have a cathedral ceiling and seen a couple articles and utube videos of people installing a cathedral ceiling box. Is this something I need also. Here are some pics of the stove pipe and my ceiling. Have a 6-12 pitch roof with a 3-12 cathedral. This is my first fireplace install and dont want to burn my new addition down. Sorry if this is a dumb question but want to get it right and there are allot of knowledgeable people on here. Im sure I will have some other questions on this install so I want to thank you guys in advance for your help on this. Fireplace is going to be installed against the wall between those windows in pic #2.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    That pipe will need a wooden chase built around it. A cathedral ceiling box is to support class A pipe. That is not class A.
  3. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,072
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    Do you see a label anywhere on the pipe? You need to make sure that chimney is approved for a woodstove, not just fireplaces. Do you have a ceiling support box at all? You will need a cathedral support and a stove pipe adapter made for that chimney. If you don't have these things finding them might be difficult. A wooden chase won't help anything in this case, a chase doesn't support the pipe, you will need to get that cathedral support, if it's available. It might be in your best interest to install a new class A system, it would work out a lot better for you in the long run and be safer.
  4. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    The 7100 is a fireplace, it is not a wood stove. It will need to framed into the wall, the chimney that is to be used with this fireplace will sit on top of the fireplace. So the support will not be from a ceiling box, it will sit on top of the fireplace.
  5. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,072
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    Oh, my bad. I'm not too familiar with quadra-fire. I would think that they require a certain chimney though. Maybe S, SL, SK pipe?
  6. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    It has a big outside pipe that the ss pipe pipe goes in. The label on the outside pipe says SL348..Hate to sound dumb but what exactly do you mean by building a chase around it?
  7. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,072
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    You will need to frame around the fireplace. This framing will continue to the ceiling, then if you choose you can continue the framing all the way out of the roof, so it would look like a more traditional chimney, but wood framed. Or, you can just run pipe with no framing, from the ceiling level up and out with a roof flashing. This chimney will rest on the fireplace, no need for a ceiling support.
  8. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    What about where it goes through the trusses? I assume I need a fire stop where it goes through the car siding thats going to be used for the ceiling. Is this what keeps the pipe from getting against a truss or am I missing something else I need? I have the big piece that gets flashed in on the roof and the collar thing is also on the pipe that covers the hole around the pipe. Two questions, One, Do I need something else and also how high do I need to run the chimney? fireplace is going on the short side of the roof by the wall. Do I have to extent flue all the way up higher than my peak or can it be a little shorter than the peak?You can see in pic #2 between those windows is where its going against that wall.
  9. chimneylinerjames

    chimneylinerjames Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    The height of the chimney will need to be 2' higher than anything with in 10'. So take a tape measure 10' horizontally to the roof. Where 10' touches the roof and the chimney on a level plane, go at least 2' higher.

    Yes there is an attic shield. It provides proper clearances to the wood and prevents the insulation from resting up against the pipe.
  10. ymurf

    ymurf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Loc:
    Missouri
    Thanks for the info. You guys are great help. Think I am looking as forward to my first fire in fireplace as I am in getting the addition done. Getting closer though.Here are a couple pics from today. Getting that french door installed was a challenge with the back hoe and two guys with the door in the bucket.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  11. webby3650

    webby3650 Master of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,072
    Loc:
    southern Indiana
    Nice looking place! You will need to build framing all the way up to the ceiling, make the top of the chase flat, it has to be closed of from the rest of the attic. Thats where the firestop will go. You will likely need to make your own insulation shield out of sheet metal. I see a firestop in one of the pics, it's cut in two pieces.

Share This Page