Drafting problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wyecoyote

Nov 14, 2009
Western Washington
Hello I'm new to this so be gentle plesae.

I have a Split Entry style house living area (3 bed, 2 bath, living room kitchen and family room upstairs and Rec room, bath, two offices down). I have a double flue chimney that I had installed two Country c210s one upstairs one downstairs. The upstairs drafts fine when I start a fire. The downstairs one does not draft on initial start and even with a good fire has difficulties. The wood I am burning is 2 to 3 year seasond and kiln dried wood. A friend of a friend owns a door/trim shop and I get the scraps. Thus I still have plenty of seasoned wood still under the deck (covered). The trim and scrap doors/frames I use to get the fires going and burn for during the day and throw a few logs on at night before bed. The downstairs one is the one I have the most problems with it billows out smoke on start up and if I shut the door all the way it will put out the fire. Anyone have any problems with this type is it because of the two levels that the smoke has to go up combinded with the small insert? I am at my wits end on this and it typically takes 20-30 minutes before the flute gets hot enough to start a draw up through the flue. Even when hot the smoke comes out when the door opens.