east-west loading help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ohiofire

Nov 11, 2011
Southwest Ohio
I am new to the wood stove world, having just installed a Country Hearth stove in the last few weeks. I've had some small break in fires, and am just now getting in to some bigger fires since it is getting cold at night. The firebox is wider than it is deep by quite a bit, so after I get some coals, I'd prefer to load EW. I rake hot coals toward the front, then put maybe 3 or 4 splits in EW. It seems like they never take off.

I have had fires the last two nights, have kept the house warm (around 70), but none of them have left hot coals for the morning, because I don't really "load up" the stove before bed. I'm just not confident that it will burn. Anyway, are there people out there that load up there stove EW exclusively, or am I going to have to cut more to fit NS? If there are people out there, suggestions? Pictures may also be helpful, as I tend to be visual :).

Also, this forum has been awesome help, and I'm pretty sure without it I would have felt frustrated so far. Great tips on here!

nothing wrong with ew thats what I do. My firebox is about 24" so i make my splits about that legnth. For startup i do 2 bottoms ew then 2 diagnol across them then if i have 2 smaller ones they go ew on the third row.