1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

EKO 40 silicon door seals and the new refractory brick

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by huffdawg, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. huffdawg

    huffdawg Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    Anyone using the new seals and refractory brick from new horizon. If so how long have you been using them.
    I have only been using the Eko now since christmas and the refractory is falling to pieces. I'm hoping the new refractory would last a little longer.

    I am refering to secondary chamber.

    Huff

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. woodsmaster

    woodsmaster Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,490
    Loc:
    N.W. Ohio
    Bummer. I've got two years on mine and will order a spare for this winter. I'm not going to change it utill I have to. Mine is getting some wear to it. I had a piece break when I was cleaning and I glued it back on with refractory cement. So far so good. I've also patched the nozzle wear with great luck.
  3. taxidermist

    taxidermist Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,031
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    I just had 1 block break in half this season, they are the factory blocks that came with it. As for the silicone gaskets......I burned them up the first season i used them. Now i just high temp silicone over the rope gasket and it works fine.

    Rob
  4. stee6043

    stee6043 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,342
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    I've got two season on the silicon door seal (upper only) and hope to get many more. I am still running the original refractories which are now four seasons...or five....old. They do show some signs of wear and I fully expect to replace them within the next year or two. Refractories are a wear item. But I certainly think they should last more than just a couple of years???
  5. huffdawg

    huffdawg Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    Well I got barely 6 months and they are crumbling apart.

    Huff
  6. maple1

    maple1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,955
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    Could you slap together some plywood molds using the old ones as a guide, and make your own with some castable refractory? Getting kind of nervous reading about short refractory life....
  7. rkusek

    rkusek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    Does anyone think the cleaning tool on the EKO may be part of the problem? I've have been real gentle with it the 2 seasons especially after hearing others having to replace refractory or the the nozzle after a couple years. Since then I've been less concerned about getting it 100% clean, and it doesn't seem like there has been hardly any additional wear on those items. This winter will be my 5th season and the last 2 have seen the most use. I was always going to modify it or make another one that would clean with less strokes but I believe the manual emphasizied to use nothing but that retangular tool. Doesn't make any sense to me. I use a wisk type broom for the end of season cleanups.

    I have had to new silicone gasket for about 1 1/2 seasons now and it seems to be holding up well. I may try taxidermist method though when it comes time to replace. Lower door has the original rope gasket.
  8. hobbyheater

    hobbyheater Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,006
    http://www.newhorizonstore.com/Products/131-refractory-chamber-eko.aspx Looking at the size of these sections, this is a good price but freight costs to get the sections here will also be high.
    Maple1 suggests making your own. If you are going this route, use refractory needles to hold the new refractory together. The needles are used at about 1 1/2 to 2% percent of the mix of refractory. These needles are also available from http://www.newhorizonstore.com/Products/129-refractory-stainless-steel-needles.aspx.
    http://www.woodheating.ca/ Talk to Gord Bullen. He is very helpful and may be able to have the sections shipped when he brings boilers out this way thereby saving you some on the shipping costs.
  9. timberr

    timberr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    226
    Loc:
    Hill, NH
    I have i 1/2 seasons on the silicon gaskets (upper & lower doors) and they are holding up well. Both my original lower blocks came apart during the final month of burning. I have the new ones, they are a little too tall, need to take a grinder to them to take down the leading edge of the upper portion of the new block so they will fit.
  10. hobbyheater

    hobbyheater Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,006
  11. taxidermist

    taxidermist Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,031
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    If you only got 6 mo then i would be on the phone having the company you bought it from ship you new ones for free.
    woodsmaster likes this.
  12. stee6043

    stee6043 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,342
    Loc:
    West Michigan
    +1. Absolutely.
  13. Medman

    Medman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Loc:
    Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
    I have used the silicone gasket for three seasons. I had ordered two, but only used one, on the upper door. Toward the end of this heating season, I had smoke in the room again, and found that the silicone gasket had started to crack. I replaced it at the end of the season, and it should be like new!

    I rounded off one end of the rectangular tool with a grinder, to scrape out the inside of the lower refractories. Both of my blocks are cracked, but still holding together after four seasons. I have to rebuild the nozzle before the next season; it has gotten really wide in the past year.
  14. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    My refractory bricks are original, and I've got at least five seasons on my EKO 60. I never move them, which I think is the trick to longevity. They're easy enough to clean around. I think you can make your own with molds and refractory cement.
  15. huffdawg

    huffdawg Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    Loc:
    British Columbia Canada
    I have never moved mine also. I did call Zenon and told him about it and he has warrantied them ,but I had to pay for the shipping. Will be picking them up in Blaine Wash. on Monday. Thank you Zenon . So far I have needed a new controller ,fan capacitor,and refractory in 6 months usage.

    Huff
  16. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    Those newer EKO controllers don't last. I've blown through two. I'm back with the original which, while not as fancy, hangs in there and does what it's supposed to do. The newer one can be customized a lot more, but it's tough to figure out (esp. with the Polish manual), and what's the point if it dies a few months after you hook it up? One thing mine would do (that the old one never does) was think I was out of wood when it was full. There's an adjustment, but I never could make it work. Simple is usually better with this stuff, IME.
  17. taxidermist

    taxidermist Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,031
    Loc:
    Fowlerville MI
    So far I have needed a new controller ,fan capacitor,and refractory in 6 months usage.

    Huiff, Sounds like to me your a little hard on your boiler...... you better let the wife run it all next winter so you dont break it. LOL]
    woodsmaster likes this.
  18. rkusek

    rkusek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    I feel fortunate with my RK2001 having no problems through 4 seasons. I wonder if they took something that worked and started cheapening up the internal components. That seems to be SOP with companies today. I worked for an outfit about 15 years ago that started outsourcing parts from China that had a much higher failer rate then boosted their warranty to "kick the can" down the road and try to re-assure customers. The funny thing is the Marketing Dept. had us change the display units to reflect the original US parts because the the stuff had "China" written on it and obviously looked inferior in appearance.

    As far as boilers go, It would seem as though someone with a little know how could make their own and that is probably what I would do if mine fails. I think the Econoburns just have a 2 speed fan and some may even be just on or off.
  19. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    The RK2001 is the one that works. The RK2001U is the one I had problems with. Zenon said it's probably a blown capacitor, which is probably easy and cheap enough to fix if you know what you're doing and you have the part. Me, I just went back to the original controller.
  20. rkusek

    rkusek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    I guess the RK2001U is the one I have. Didn't realize the model number was that similar on the Celcius version. It would be nice to have a spare or a plan to make something that would work in a pinch.
  21. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    If the temp display starts jumping around from temp to temp (in the process, clicking), then you've had it. Might be something about my system (grounding, perhaps) that caused two to blow in short order, but blow they did. You could probably get the boiler to work, more or less, with a strap-on stat. It would be nice if they'd put a well in those things. But that would be a good thing to have on-hand just in case.
  22. BoilerMan

    BoilerMan Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,571
    Loc:
    Northern Maine
    It seems like all the Eastern-European boilers have the same lack of thermowells. Mine is the same, there is one place for a well, ( 1/2" BSP thread) and the other is for the RK2001AT2.....Don't know how that controller will hold up over the long run. I think you could run the boiler fan w/ a strap-on stat and the circulator with the well mounted stat. Use a speed controller to dial the fan to the desired speed, and simply have on-off control, or high / low with two aquastats. It's what I plan to do when my controller craps out if it's not warranteed through NH.

    Anyone else have the 2001AT2

    TS
  23. Medman

    Medman Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Loc:
    Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
  24. Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,705
    Loc:
    Central NYS
    Man, Medman, thanks for that. I might have two spare controllers before long.
  25. rkusek

    rkusek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    530
    Loc:
    Nebraska
    Sounds like something to stock now in case it fails in the middle of a cold snap. Same for the probe.

Share This Page