Englander 10-cpm install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mithesaint

Minister of Fire
Nov 1, 2011
NW Ohio
Hello all, newbie here. I'm in the process of preparing for the installation of my new-to-me 10 cpm, and have encountered a snag.

I have a center entrance, open floor plan colonial that I want to wean off of propane. The back half of the house on the lower level is one big room, about 45x13 or so. Right smack dab in the middle of that is an unused area that would fit a pellet stove perfectly. The problem is that there is what I call a plumbing alcove there. I know that's not the correct term, but basically it is an area on the wall that sticks out 6 inches further than the rest of the wall to allow passage of plumbing pipes. In that 30" wide area, there is a single 4" PVC pipe that drains the upstairs bathroom. According to Murphy's law, that sewer pipe is exactly where I want to vent the stove out through the wall.

Unfortunately, I can't move the stove very easily either way. Moving to the right puts it too close to my patio door, and to the left puts it into the living room area and too close to another window.

My question is: Can I put any elbows in the vent pipe before it goes through the wall? Does it have to be straight from the stove through the wall? Can I put an elbow on the outlet, run it upwards and to the right at about a45 degree angle to get to a point in the wall where there isn't any sewer pipe in the way, and then out through the wall?

Thanks in advance.

sounds feasible.

check install manual for said stove.