Englander 25-PDV Auger Issues

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Clarksfan1, Feb 2, 2013.

  1. Clarksfan1

    Clarksfan1
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Eastern Ohio
    Having some trouble that I need a little pointing in the right direction. About twice a day the top auger will stop running and the fire will go out. I am mostly able to catch it before the ash cools down and when I push in and HOLD the on button the top auger will begin running again no issues what so ever. This has me ruling out a jam because it runs immediatly and begins to feed pellets again. After holding the on button for a few seconds the stove begins running properly again.

    So I'm wondering where to start......

    Auger going bad? Vaccum switch going bad? Board going bad?

    Any thoughts?

    If more details are needed let me know....kids are harassing me
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. flybmw02

    flybmw02
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    12
    Loc:
    Metrowest Ma
    I have had the same problem with mine it was the connectors needed to be re crimped on the motor they get lose because the motor moves.
    John
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. HD41

    HD41
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Northern Ohio
    Good thought on loose wires. Sometimes it works to find out what the problem is not. While auger motors are always suspect a continuous bench test using a patch cord should tell if the motor is the problem. If it stops or overheats try some WD40 on the shaft/caps to free it up and apply some light oil.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    How old is the stove? Did you buy it new, or used?

    The last time the entire exhaust system and ALL of the internal sections of the stove (including removing the comb. blower) were cleaned?

    Did you check to see if the vacuum tube and the connection to stove itself is clear?
     
    stoveguy2esw likes this.
  5. Clarksfan1

    Clarksfan1
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Eastern Ohio
    Thanks Fly I will look into that.....as far as the stove 4 years old bought it new....cleaned this year have run less than a ton in 4 years......Although not sure what that would have to do with the top auger randomly stopping????

    As far as the vacuum tube I will check into that as well.
     
  6. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    If the stove has not been cleaned internally, a blockage will reduce vacuum. That can cause the vacuum switch to trip, which directly controls whether the auger runs or not.
     
  7. Clarksfan1

    Clarksfan1
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Eastern Ohio
    Thats understood, but wouldn't that blockage prevent the auger from re-starting when I push the "On" button and hold it in? Would the loss of vacuum be temporary, or would it be something that is always present?

    To be understood, if I turn the stove on and off the auger won't start back up.....only while I'm holding the "on" button does the top auger run again, then after a few seconds if I let it go it runs normally again.
     
  8. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    The startup routine bypasses the vacuum switch, I think. Easiest way to tell if vacuum switch is stopping the auger is to jump the vacuum switch wires together. If the stove runs normally after the start-up routine is over, then either the switch is bad, or stove is dirty.
     
  9. Dgopetactical

    Dgopetactical
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    45
    Loc:
    York County, Pa

    If it was a vacuum switch issue shouldn't it be throwing a code? How about a faulty lid switch? You could also flip flop the motors to see if the issue moves to the bottom auger.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Yep, those could be tried also.

    Hopefully, the OP has done the Englander diagnostic on the stove.
     
  11. Dgopetactical

    Dgopetactical
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    45
    Loc:
    York County, Pa

    X2
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,807
    Likes Received:
    465
    Loc:
    Salem NH

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    are you still showing an ON light when the fire is dying? as for the vac switch its not bypassed by start sequence, but the startup does run the exhaust blower wide open so the added punch of air may be pulling the switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Good to know for future ref.
     
  15. Clarksfan1

    Clarksfan1
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Eastern Ohio
    Yes, I am still showing on when the fire is dying out....have never had an error code.
     
  16. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Did you ever try bypassing the vacuum switch as was suggested above in post #8?
     

Share This Page