Englander 25PVDC+Pellet Newb=Pathetic...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Traxxis

Dec 22, 2011
United States
First off, fantastic forum here, TONS upon TONS of information. There truly is a forum for everything!

I am completely new to stove heating. I happened upon this unit on Craigslist for $300 OBO and it was listed as a "handyman special" because the blower wasn't working. After calling the guy and telling him I wanted it but would like to see pictures, he emailed me back and said it had more surface rust than he thought, so $100 and it's mine.

So, I pick it up, bring it home and give it a thorough cleaning, inside and out. It hadn't been used much, the guy said he used it one season, then moved into a house that already had one installed, so this one went to storage. I removed the impingement plate, cleaned it, what I assume is the heat exchanger behind it, pulled the exhaust fan and cleaned it all out, like I said, I think I did a fairly thorough job cleaning it up.

I then hooked it up and turned it on, and have been running it for two months with Pennington Premium Oak. My problem is that it doesn't seem like it heats worth a darn. Below are all of my measurements, which seem to stay somewhat consistent...

Room air temp: 125 degrees
Sides of unit: 190-225 degrees
Burn Pod (via infrared thermometer) 300 degrees
Exhaust: 250-300 degrees.