1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Englander 25PVDC settings

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by newport94, Jan 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newport94

    newport94 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    Rhode Island
    Hello, I am new to the site and hoping for a little help. I was wondering if anyone had changed the factory settings on the three bottom buttons on the control panel. (Low fuel feed, low burn airand air on temp from left to right).

    The factory settings are still in use on my stove but it burns really hot and the glass gets black within an hour of cleaning it.

    Thanks for any help.

    Eric

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    I've changed and fiddled with my settings. First off, Mike at ESW (you'll see him on this board alot, he'll probably chime in on this thread) says to never change the air on temp (button all the way on the right). That being said, I've changed the LFF and LBA settings quite a bit, to adjust for different pellets. One thing to know about those two buttons is that they only affect the unit when you're on heat setting 1 or 2. I believe everything 3-9 is controlled by the computer.

    There's also a restrictor plate in the hopper that you can adjust that will affect the unit no matter what heat setting you're running on. The plate is over the hole in the hopper where the pellets drop into the top auger chute. It's held in by one bolt, I believe. You can move it back and forth to make the opening bigger or smaller. I've never changed this myself, but many people on this board have.

    If you want to give ESW a call, they'll be happy to assist you in dialing in your stove.

    Welcome to the forum!
  3. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    1st Time posting, but have been reading alot of info on this website. I have a 25PDVC mfg date is 01/05 it use to burn great, had all kinds of heat from it.. but recently in the past few months i've been running into all kinds of problems, have had to change an auger motor.. have had some issues with noise, no it doesnt seemt o be pushing the heat like it use to and i'm getting ALOT of ash build up and the temp in the house keepds droping after it runs for a bit.. can goto bed with the house arround 74deg.. wake up in the early morning and the house is down to arround 59deg. i've called ESW and have talked with tech about some of these issues... they had me reset the stove settings... clean out everythings that i can clean.. still not putting out like it use too.. HELP please... the picture i'm atempting to post with this is the buildup i'm getting with in the first 1hr of running and you can see where it doesn't seem to be burning the pellets completely... HELP HELP PLEASE :) OH use to beable to run the stove on a 3/3 and was toasty warm in here (roughly 1000sq ft) now its up on a 5/6 6/6 settings ..

    Attached Files:

  4. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    Hmmmm. Have you checked to make sure your flue is clear?
  5. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    cleaned out everything from the fresh air intake, the exhaust pipe.. bleow the burn pot.. getting frustrated.
  6. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,148
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Gotta ask. Did you open the combustion blower and clean it out?
  7. bret4

    bret4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    I was thinking the same thing. It's hard to tell but that flame doesn't look that strong. Maybe the combustion blower is pluged or going bad.
  8. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    hmm.. can't say that i did that Bart... will have to see if i can do it.. when doing so will i need to replace a gasket?? still new to all this and i'm not that mechanically umm enabled.. lol if it was a computer i can rip it apart and put it back to gether in record time.. but when it comes to things like this.. lol i'm challenged. :) thanks for the info though, and i'll have to try that.
  9. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    If you're real careful, you may be able to get away w/o breaking the gasket. I was able to take mine apart and save the gasket, but I got lucky. Probably wouldn't be a bad idea to purchase a new gasket before you take it apart.
  10. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    well took a chance and removed the blower.. gasket looks good to reuse.. the fan umm well heres what it looked like. gonna clean it out and see if this helps.

    Attached Files:

  11. petejung

    petejung New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    212
    That doesn't look tooo bad to me.

    I thought you said you had no mechanical skills! Pulling that apart w/o damaging the gasket isn't the easiest thing in the world to do...nor is putting it back on.
  12. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    29,148
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Doesn't look too bad if the housing and manifold isn't full of crap. But it wouldn't be the first time that a series of things caused a problem.
  13. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    Well thought i did well till the vac got to close to the gasket.. :O LOL checking with local stove shop for gasket... crossing fingers that they call back saying they have one .. mean time i scraped and cleaned the fan the best i could.

    Attached Files:

  14. pegdot

    pegdot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    415
    Loc:
    Upstate, SC
    On that stove there are two gaskets on the blower. The part you removed has a reusable gasket to facilitate cleaning. (If you keep the vacuum from eating it. ;-) ) If you remove the entire blower assembly you have to replace the gasket. They are available from Englander and they ship REALLY fast.

    Good luck!
  15. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    Thanks Peggy.. i saw that there were two different gaskets for this, well fortunately the local stove shop has parts that can cross reference to parts that i need.. so i got the gasket that i needed to replace and put everything back together.. we shall see what happens between tonight and tomorrow morning.. right now the stove is on 3/3 and its keeping the place around 74deg.. but its also a little warmer outside (22deg) but see if it drops through out the night into the morning. Thanks everyone that chimed in.. here's a picture of the flame now .. still doesn't seem to be burning like it use to. Oh.. And Peggy... I'll keep the vac away next time :red:

    Attached Files:

  16. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    [size=3Well this morning when we got up.. it was 15deg outside and it was 66 inside... better then before.. still doesnt seem to be kicking out the heat like it use to.... guess i'll have to live with this for now. Also i took another picture, [color=red]should there be this much buildup of ash for 1 days running in the burnpot?[/color][/size]

    Attached Files:

  17. MainePellethead

    MainePellethead Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    899
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Holy cow......I dont even get a half of a cup of ash in a 24 hour period....yikes
  18. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,997
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    ok im back , been on a little (way too much work to do sabbatical) anyway , how long since the baffle plate has been pulled and the bottom of the heat exchanger has been vacuumed out? that is a lot of ash for a days burn , i get ash but not that much. looks like a bit of restriction somewhere. i'd start by checking the heat exchanger , pull the baffle from above the fire , reach down through the bottom of the clean out port (below the shelf) if you feel a lot of ash thats your restriction. i use a home made attachment for my love less ash vac, it consists of a 2 ft long piece of garden hose (had an old one laying around) i then wrap duct tape around it to make it thick enough so that i could stuff it into my vac hose, this allos me to get down into the back chamber and remove the buildup of fly ash that occurs. i do this about once every other week. nice job by the way of cleaning out that exhaust fan, bloody shame about the gasket , getting the blower off without messing up that gasket is not as simple as it looks.
  19. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH
    well i've pulled the plate out and vac'd out what i could, i'll have to get a peice of hose and try what you did.. i'll let you know how that goes.. thanks for the info and hopefully i can get this stove back up and running properly Soooon!
  20. yulanchief

    yulanchief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Loc:
    Highland Lake,NY
    Is there any update on your stove?I have the same stove i bought it from Lowes.the pictures you posted look just like what my
    ash build up looks like.I have my stove set-up in my basement just to keep the temp above 65 so its not my major source of heat.
    I keep my stove set @ 3 & 3 most of the time unless we are down stairs.i get alot of ash build up if i run it above 4 & 4.i moved the settings to 4 7 1 trying that for the last couple days.and i also just cleaned the stove with a shop vac and removed the baffle plate and used the garden hose trick.so the stove is clean.was just wondering if you had any updates on your progress.
  21. packerfan

    packerfan Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    375
    Loc:
    frozen tundra
    I too am also getting a ton af ash built up in my burn pot. It seems to have been like this from the first day I started it up, so I don't think my problem is related to a heavy ash build up somewhere inside it. I've tried 3 different brands of pellets this year, and that didn't seem to make much of a difference as far as build-up of ash in my burnpot is concerned.

    I also tried increasing the low burn air to see if that made a difference, but that didn't seem to help either. I usually use a low burn rate (1 or 2)
  22. mpdonovan

    mpdonovan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Littleton, NH

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page