1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Englander into a masonry chimney

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jssls, Jul 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jssls

    jssls New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    I am looking at venting a Englander 25-pdvc into a masonry chimney. Total vent distance would be about 24'. Can I vent directly into my chimney or do I need a liner?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,714
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va

    whats the flue diameter? answer will depend on that.
  3. jssls

    jssls New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    The chimney is a standard tile lined chimney approximately 8" square. I would have to climb up the get the exact measurement. It has an 8" thimble also.
  4. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,714
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    that length and diameter , you should probably install a liner, with that big a flue its gonna be hard to maintain flue temps. i'd be more comfortable with a 6" but 8 inch or bigger (with an 8" thimble you will be 8 or bigger) especially with 24 ft of flue , i just dont see it working as well as it would with a 4" liner.
  5. jssls

    jssls New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Thanks for the info. Is it correct to assume the same would apply to a 25-PDVC model as well? By the way, what is the BTU output of the 25-PDV and the 25-PDVC? I might need to change my plans due to dimensional issues. Thanks.
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,714
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    yes, while a 6" flue at that length may have worked well, an 8X8 is just too big for either unit.
  7. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,467
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Installation manuals say no more than 6 inches round or 28 square inches. Even 6 inch square would be too large.
  8. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,714
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    yeah , youre right , i was saying 6 Inch but didnt specify round , which is what mine is hooked to at 14 ft. it will work with that as it has for 3 winters in my hookup. actually it probably would in a single story chimney with square but at 24 ft it would be hard to keep the flue tiles hot. this could lead to creosote buildup as moisture present could liquify. 8X8 is definately too big.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page