1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Englander stove model 10-cpm

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by steeler2344, Mar 3, 2013.

  1. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    Hey guys i am having trouble with my stove. i am running pellets. got it set on one to burn the pellets. but now the pellet stove goes in to start up mode and then stops and goes back in to start up mode again and does it about 10 to 12 times. then it just stops....i press start on the unit again it does the same thing and then it just starts running after 10 -15 more starts.....any ideas

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. ghandy131

    ghandy131 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Set it at 5 and see what happens.
  3. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Is this a new, refurbished, or used stove? Has it ever started-up correctly at all? Is it connected to a good quality surge protector?

    A control board hard reset may fix the problem.
  4. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,960
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    is the unit on a thermostat? if no check the jumper on the thermostat bus to ensure a good connection shorting the two sides together.

    also a hard reboot and reset back to mode 1 may be the solution. have you had any power issues since this started happening? brownouts? outages?
  5. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    replaced the surge protector and that seemed to fix the problem....thanks guys
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    What make & model of surge protector caused the problem? Might be good to know for future purchasers to stay away from.
  7. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    well apparently that was not it. Last night while the stove was running it quit feeding pellets till the flames went out and then started feeding again. we came back to a pot full of un burnt pellets. we cleaned it out vacuumed it out cleaned it up real nice. tried to start it again and then it started the whole start stop thing. i did the hard reset(unplug wait 3 minutes plug in push the three bottom buttons. un plug plug back in set the board back to 1 to burn pellets) press start and it goes back to starting and stoping again......i dont get it
  8. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
  9. imacman

    imacman Guest

    From what you wrote, that's not the way to do a hard reset. \

    1. Un-plug stove, and immediately plug back in.
    2. Press all 3 bottom buttons at the same time, and release.....display should go to "F-5".....then it should go off.
    3. Now do a reset to Pellets....make sure you allow the display to go totally off before going from one procedure to the next....same after setting to pellets.
    4. Double check bottom 3 button settings. Set to 1-4-1 to start with.


    Also, have you unplugged the stove, and made sure that all the connectors on the control boards are pushed on tight?
  10. imacman

    imacman Guest


    Is the ignitor still plugged in? Did anything happen right before it started acting up? Power outage, electrical problems in the house, etc?
  11. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    How do i get it to i-4-1
  12. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    never mind i figured out the how to change it
  13. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Press each bottom button, one at a time. When a number shows up in the window, use BOTH up or BOTH down arrows to change it.
  14. imacman

    imacman Guest

    What were they set at?
  15. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
  16. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    1-1-1?

    You said you jumped the vac switch and it still had the issues?

    With 1-1-1, I would think of vacuum issues right off the bat.
  17. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Dex, 1-1-1 may be due to the hard reset.


    Steeler, you didn't say if the bad ignitor is still connected.....
  18. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    no it is not coneted
  19. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Any change after the hard reset?
  20. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    it sounds like it is still in start up mode but the display is blank...and now not feeding pellets
  21. imacman

    imacman Guest

    If you checked all the control board connections and found nothing loose, I'd be calling Englander tech tomorrow and run this by them.....could be a bad board.
  22. steeler2344

    steeler2344 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Sabin MN
    Ok mabey should have asked this before....when we started it before the problems it was kinda noisy then after start up it was whisper quiet.....is that normal
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    The loudest noise during start-up is the air pump. Once the start-up is complete, and the air pump just goes into burn mode (1 "thump" during each auger dump to keep the ignitor tube clean), it is pretty quiet until convection fan comes on.
  24. imacman

    imacman Guest

    If you unplug the stove, and plug it back in, does the control board light up on the heat & blower setting you selected for about 20 seconds?
  25. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,960
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    when you reboot the control board it kicks the "fuel mode" setting to 3. need to set it back to mode 1 for pellet or it will not feed fuel.

    unplug, replug, press blower speed up and down together (2 fingers) and release, should see a 3 in the heat range , use heat range down to lower this to 1. mode 3 is not an active CPM mode so it doesnt look at the secondary control board which has the lockouts. what it would do is feed if you hold the on button in but quit feeding as soon as you release it

Share This Page