1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Exploding Harman Oakwood?

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Skeezix_McGoo, Nov 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Troutchaser

    Troutchaser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Loc:
    Zone 6
    Do as BBurner stated. Get a pile of coals in that thing before you think about afterburning.
    Have you watched Harman's website videos? Great stuff for learning your stove.

    Last night, I burned about 40 minutes before I could close the bypass and reduce the air to about 1/4 open. Just takes that long to get some coals and flaming splits on that.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Skeezix_McGoo

    Skeezix_McGoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Wow. Have I learned a lot in the past few days. Yes. I have watched the Harman Videos. And watched them again, and again and again. And what I was missing was a good hot bed of coals. That seems to be the key to this wood burning stuff. You see, I replaced a nice Harman XXV pellet stove with this new Harman Oakwood, just because I love the big blast of radient heat you get from a wood stove, so this is all so new to me. I still have the pellet ,.....I put it in the basement, but there is just no duplicating the old wood stove heat. I am burning Envi Blocks as opposed to traditional firewood, otherwise I would not have considered the wood stove and they are awesome.

    But I still have one more question. When I get this thing ripping hot enough to induce a secondary burn, and I then damper it way down and choke it, I will go 12 -16 hours in some cases. But I dont think that the fire rips hot enough for the secondary combustion to take place fot yhr entire 12-16 hours. Is there some point as the fire idles down that the afterburner is not actually working? And is this normal? Probally sounds like a silly question, but remember, I'm pretty new here. Thoughts?
  3. Skeezix_McGoo

    Skeezix_McGoo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Oops, double post. This forum is also new to me:)
  4. Shari

    Shari Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,272
    Loc:
    Wisconsin
    Let's back up here a second. You said you get it rip roaring hot. How hot is hot? You do have a thermometer, right? What's your stove manual say for max heat range?
  5. Troutchaser

    Troutchaser New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Loc:
    Zone 6
    deleted

    Let me try this again.
    Yes, you should have a good therm. for the stovetop and then the flue. Most of us would be lost w/o them.
    Your secondaries probably won't last over 2-3 hours with a loaded stove. The remainder of your heat comes from that big pile of coals that remains in the firebox.
    This will take some experimentation. And it sounds like you're well on your way.
    No silly questions here.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page