1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Fireplace will not stay lit

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by MInnGas, Nov 1, 2013.

  1. MInnGas

    MInnGas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Woodbury Mn
    My 15 year old build in fireplace is giving me problems for the first time. Pilot stays lit but main flame goes out after a few minutes. I have cleaned everything including surface of thermocouple which I suspect.
    Wiring seems good as I can jumper the ignition bypassing the switch and even that wont work when it shuts down. I'm open to suggestions but if it is the thermocouple is that something I can simply replace?
    I see where it unscrews from the main assembly. I don't know what is inside a thermocouple or how it triggers the mechanism so I am leery of just taking it off. Please advise. Thank you.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,305
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Can you give us the manufacturer & model of your unit? That & maybe a pic of the pilot assembly & the gas valve can be valuable. 15 years ago, the workings of these gas units were different than they are now, so every little bit of information you can provide will help us to help you.
  3. MInnGas

    MInnGas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Woodbury Mn
    Thank you. How's this?

    Attached Files:

    • 003.JPG
      003.JPG
      File size:
      287.9 KB
      Views:
      51
    • 005.JPG
      005.JPG
      File size:
      259.4 KB
      Views:
      54
    • 006.JPG
      006.JPG
      File size:
      321.3 KB
      Views:
      52
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,305
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...

    Good job. In the center pic, the one with the pilot hood, there are two thermo-generators. The one on the right is obviously working, because that is the thermocouple which controls the gas flow to the pilot, That is the smaller of the two. The larger of the two, the one on the left, is the thermopile. It controls the gas flow to the burner. You should be able to get a universal millivolt generator (aka Thermopile) at a True Value or an Ace Hardware store, for about $50. Once you get that, if you can't figure out how to replace it, report back & one of us can talk you through the process. It's not too difficult.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013
  5. MInnGas

    MInnGas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Woodbury Mn
    Thank you. Not so easy to find around here. After running around all day I found one at a fireplace store but they wanted $69. I walked out and found one online for $35.
    Is it important to plug the hole the wires come through with fire-stop or high temp silicone? I notice it was plugged before but brittle and I had to break it away to clear the old thermopile wire. Otherwise I got it apart. Not difficult but messy.
  6. Heatsource

    Heatsource Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    760
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    If it is a direct vent unit then yes, it is very important.
    either way, seal the hole w/hi temp red silicone
    DAKSY likes this.
  7. MInnGas

    MInnGas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Woodbury Mn
    That seems to have fixed it. I used the red silicone too.
    Thanks a lot for the help. I really appreciate it. Now that I have it working again I intend to replace the switch with a thermostat.
  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,305
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Make sure it's a Millivolt T-Stat. For a nicer option, take a look at the Skytech remotes. You may never leave your recliner...
  9. MInnGas

    MInnGas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Woodbury Mn
    How could I not have known about remote thermos! I would have bought one years ago. I just placed an order. Thanks again!!!!!!!!!
    DAKSY likes this.

Share This Page