Fireplace Wood Insert - Ash Pan or No Ash Pan?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bash

Jan 30, 2008
Southeastern MA
I'm new to this and I have never run a woodstove in my life. I am planning on having a wood insert installed and I am trying to pick the model. I really like what I have read about the "Pacific" insert from Pacific Energy, but it doesn't have an ash pan. I have spoken to friends of mine that have stoves and they feel it is a huge mistake to buy a stove without an ash pan becuase of the difficulty of getting the ashes out of a hot stove.

I plan to use the insert to offset oil costs. It will be upstairs in the living room/kitchen area (cathedral ceilings with ceiling fan) of a raised ranch. I have oil heat and plan to use the wood stove during the awake hours; oil at night if needed. I expect the stove will probably not burn through the night so I will be restarting the fire in the mornings. If the ashes will be cool in the mornings is it that big a deal to not have an ash pan?

Any advice on the need for ash pans or the Pacific model I am considering would be much apreciated.

I think a stove has to be free standing in order to have an ash pan. With an insert there is no where for the ashes to fall.