first time cleaning flue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

ugabulldog

Hearth Supporter
Oct 29, 2009
South Carolina
I will try to explain best I can and use the correct terminology as I have never done this before...This is for a 8" round duct.....I removed the round metal cover on top of the rain cap/flue cover but brush is too tight to to go inside cap pipe so I need to remove entire cap. Also, screws are hard to get to due to the chimney cap (meaning the big black square piece that hides the cap) so I want to make sure I am doing this right the first time. What screws in picture (labeled 1,2, and 3) do I need to remove the cap or is there something else I should know/do? Thanks

Attachments

• 002.JPG
    002.JPG
    86.8 KB · Views: 262
Last edited:
It's hard to tell because the picture is so close, but I would start with screws #3 and it it won't slide off screws #2 are also holding the cap on.

From the picture it's not clear. Is that the very top of the chimney? Not were it comes out of the roof. You do need it open to the chimney. So all the cap needs to come off or open to the same diameter as the chimney. My cap comes off with a 1 inch turn. Mine has screws that hold the bottom of the cap to the top, but you don't take them apart. Maybe some one has your setup and can explain what you have to do.