First timer and a bit nervous

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RnG17

Sep 9, 2010
PA
New here so HI to everyone!

I've burned wood at my camp since I was a little kid, but now that I'm going to be burning in my house for some reason I'm a bit nervous. I decided to go with a Drolet wood stove in my finished basement. I'm an HVAC tech and decided to make my basement my central return to my house since this is where my heat build up is going to be. I will be leaving my fan on the 'on' position to my heat pump to circulate heat throughout the house. At this point I am satisfied and very happy. Here is my concern, I followed the min. distance from the corner, top, back, etc. from the stove. Now I understand that the stove will get around 500-600 degrees from what they tell me. I am using double wall stove pipe, simply because of peace of mind issues, behind the stove we used fire board and put up stove veneer, and tiled under the stove and kept the carpet a reasonable distance away from the stove. Now our stone veneer does not cover a large portion of the wall behind the stove, maybe 4-5 feet, but the stoves corner is 14" away from the drywall which it requires 12". Does anyone see any issues with this set up yet?