1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Flashing #4 on M55

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jumpink, Dec 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DorazioJ

    DorazioJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Western Ma
    Going back to the OP topic. Have a M55 Cast Insert.. and have tripped the flashing #4 high temp switch about 5 times in the past 2 weeks. Seems to trip with the stove kicks on to heat level 3 (I have it on a hi/lo stat). Called the dealer he said it may be a airflow problem and he was going to replace the cap on the chimney.
    Also, when the installed the stove originally back a few months they had the damper fully closed. So the first couple days before I called the dealer back the burn was very very dirty. He thinks that might have clogged up some stuff. Overall he seems to think it is an airflow issue. I read back through all the posts here.. I'm not seeing if there was a determination made for what is causing the high limit switch to trip.. or what Enviro or the Dealers did to help the issue. Any updates from anyone that I could bring to the dealer when he comes to service the machine would be helpful.

    Thanks!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Wachusett

    Wachusett Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Loc:
    Wachusett Reservoir, MA.
    m55 cast man,

    Looking through older M55 posts, I believe this is common problem with the cast unit, related to the auger cover.
    There is a new auger cover which limits the supply of pellets to the stove, allowing you to use the higher settings
    without tripping the high limit switch. I have the free standing unit and have had no issues running the stove on 5.
    I am sure others with the same issue as yourself can add more.
  3. DorazioJ

    DorazioJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Loc:
    Western Ma
    Thanks Wachusett.. I did some more searching and did find another thread on this topic. Exactly as you stated.. looks like I should be getting a new auger cover that reduces the feed rate to bring the BTU output from down 75,000 to 55,000. I am going to let Mr. Dealer know this.. guess that would explain why it wouldn't trip at heat level 2.. only at heat level 3 when the BTUs probably got too high.

    Thanks,
    JMD
  4. BradH70

    BradH70 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    South West NH
    I also have the M55C insert, purchased about a month ago and it DOES have the metal plate that you are talking about. I've run the stove in HIGH/LOW mode with the high setting at heat level 3. I've run the stove at level 4 for short times and I ran it at level 5 for over an hour when I was adjusting the damper to get the proper burn chamber vacuum of 0.15 to 0.17"h2o. I've never had the temp sensor trip and I'v used 3 differnt brands of pellets - NEWP, Okanagans, Barefoots. I could see how not having the plate up at heat exchanger tubes could increase the tempuratures inside the hopper.
  5. BradH70

    BradH70 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    431
    Loc:
    South West NH
    I bought my M55C insert just this past March and I don't think that I have a noisy auger motor. The only motor I hear running is the adgitator motor. When the augur runs, maybe I can hear it a little bit, but realy the only noise is from the pellets falling into the purn pot. I will pay more attention to it tonight.
  6. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Brad,
    If the auger was a bad one, you would know for sure right out of the gate. The auger will make a slight "hum" when it turns on, but not a gear whine that is readily audible.

    I wonder why Enviro didn't use the same mfg (Gleason Avery) for the agitator? Then the agitator would be pretty much silent also. From what I can tell, it might be possible to change it out to a Gleason Avery without doing any mods.
    Flynfrfun
  7. flynfrfun

    flynfrfun Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Loc:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Brad,
    I've finally realized that the plate has a 2nd very important function. It is a pathway for the heated air to go up into the heat exchanger tubes, then it moves backwards thru the heat exchanger tubes thru some "V" shaped notches cut into the front of the scraper. It is forced to heat the back of the heat exchange tubes that are covered by the metal plate. Then at the back of the plate, there is a slot that the heated air goes thru and goes down behind the iron firebox liner before it finally exits at the bottom of the firebox. Seems like a good way to keep the heated air inside the stove moving around heating the heat exchanger tubes as much as possible before it exits the stove.
    Flynfrfun
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page