1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Flue gas temps for FireView

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by charly, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. charly

    charly Guest

    When running my Fireview at a .5 draft setting, my cat glowing and my stove top is @450,,, I'm seeing a flue gas temp of 350 degrees. Is this too low? Will I be leaving deposits at the last foot of my 22 ft lined and insulated masonry chimney?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. MnDave

    MnDave Guest

    From what I have read, if that cat is activated then you are good-to-go, the creoste forming gases burned in the cat and converted them to heat.
  3. dylskee

    dylskee Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Central MA
    That's right about where my flue temps are charly and my stack is still clean as a whistle! I just checked my stove and it's at 550° and my flue temps are at 350° with my draft setting between .5~.75.
  4. charly

    charly Guest

    OK thanks,,, just wanted to confirm I wasn't creating a problem.
  5. charly

    charly Guest

    You are using a flue probe, not surface temps, correct?
  6. dylskee

    dylskee Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Central MA
    Oh sorry, no I'm checking surface temps. I didn't realize you were using a flue probe, sorry charly.
  7. charly

    charly Guest

    So they say you double the surface temp to convert to flue gas temp. You'd be at 700? Maybe I am too low?
  8. dylskee

    dylskee Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I didn't read the last two words of your original post, I have a stainless steel chimney so I shouldn't have even replied to this thread. I have to finish reading threads before posting..... o_O
  9. dylskee

    dylskee Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Central MA
    I do find that if I go from .75 (Which is almost smothering the fire) to 1. my flue temps jump about 150~200° so you might want to try a setting of 1. and see what that does for you. It makes a huge difference for me.
  10. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    When the 30 is going, my surface temps on my flue/pipe are that or lower. Same could be said for the Vigilant and Defiant that ran from the same chimney. I think you are fine as it regards to it being too low.
  11. charly

    charly Guest

    Yes , I agree that does make a big difference.
  12. charly

    charly Guest

    Are surface temps on a single wall pipe and flue gas temps, pretty close?
  13. MnDave

    MnDave Guest

    Guys, what do I not understand about catalytic combustors? I thought they are either on or off. Can they be on and if they are not getting enough air they can clog and let creosote forming gases up the flue?

    MnDave
  14. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    By gas temps, I am assuming you are measuring internal pipe temps. I believe the internal temps are about twice that of the surface temps. I think that is how it works.
  15. dylskee

    dylskee Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348
    Loc:
    Central MA
    When the cat is engaged it burns the smoke that is created when it isn't the smoke passes through and goes up the chimney just like an ordinary stove. It really doesn't have much to do with the lack of air, the cat needs to be cranking hot to re-burn the smoke that's all.
  16. corey21

    corey21 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,215
    Loc:
    Soutwest VA
    I may be wrong but a surface reading of 300 is 600 in the flue.
  17. charly

    charly Guest

    Yes I have a flue probe , measuring internal flue temps.

Share This Page