1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

"Frankenstorm" on the way east coast!!!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Pellet-King, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine

    Nice to hear you're helping out your neighbors. Don't hear enough of things like this in the news.
    The Ds likes this.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Seasoned Oak

    Seasoned Oak Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,625
    Loc:
    Eastern Central PA
    These time bring out the best in people and sometimes the worst. We were lucky here in Pa.
  3. Pellet-King

    Pellet-King Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,221
    Loc:
    Northern Ct
    Pellet stove once it's going uses like under 100 watts, why all the hassle with batteries and charging every 4 hrs when you got power man??, mine uses 75 watts when the auger turns and down to 60 watts from both blowers.
  4. wilburg

    wilburg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Loc:
    Western Mass
    This is a major problem... I got a call from a friend who is having the same problem... He is considering siphoning his car.. Which is a good idea.. But a better idea is for people to learn from this and during "preparations" is to have a week supply of gasoline for the generator... You can always use the gasoline that you didn't use to dump into your var after the storm, but at least you would be prepared for the lack of gas... We had the same problem after snowtober last year.
  5. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Generators are like any gas consuming device they burn it while running and there really is no need to run a generator 24/7 during a power outage, those auto timed coffee makers (and a lot of other things) need to be forgotten about when stuff hits the fan.

    Running the house here takes a average of 20KwH/day during our prime usage month that is canning season in full swing so on average that means about 4 hrs of running the 5000 watt genny . There is no way we would can during a power outage and cooking goes from the electric range to the gas grill and microwave. Heating if needed goes to the dino juice burnner.

    We maintain a full genny tank, and 15 gallons in cans, and top off the car and that gets parked in the garage and is our emergency emergency gas supply from which we would only siphon 10 gallons from for the genny. That keeps all area hospitals and one boatload of gas stations well within remaining gas range.
  6. Shaw520

    Shaw520 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    462
    Loc:
    Modena
    Batteries = less hassle and noise from the genny,... I only run the genny for short spurts when I need it,.. the pellet stove can run 24hrs off the batteries with just an occasional start of the truck,,... very simple with no noisy genny blaring away all night.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  7. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I'M BAAAAACK! Power finally just came back on at about 10:30 am today (out for 60 hrs total). Installing the whole house generator was one of THE best things I did back in '05. Now I can give it an oil change and adjust the valves.

    Internet had been out the whole time though (Time Warner uses local line power to run the system here)......I went through Hearth.com withdrawal symptoms for about a day.....LOL.

    Otherwise, everything is OK.....lots of branches down, clean-up work to be done. Pellet stove ran off generator power without a issue the whole time.
  8. bonesy

    bonesy Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    306
    Loc:
    NE PA
    Curious how you would siphon the gas from the car. All new vehicles have anti-siphon devices in the filler tubes. I have found no easy way of doing it other than taking the filler neck clamps off and removing the rubber hose that attaches my filler tube to the tank (at least on my truck) which gives direct access to the tank.
  9. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    We need one of these so we get our fix!

    Attached Files:

    Brokenwing likes this.
  10. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Let me guess.......your son will be getting a LOT of exercise during power outages??? ;lol
    jtakeman likes this.
  11. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,580
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    ::-) The wife was just saying she needs more exercise! ;)
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  12. briansol

    briansol Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,762
    Loc:
    central ct
    That happened here in CT last year too. People in lines for hours... only to realize when they got to the pump that they didn't take cards- cash only.

    When will people learn?

    tank up the day before (or earlier), and take cash out of the bank before too.
    whlago and SmokeyTheBear like this.
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That is one way, then there is the old it depends upon the the device in the filler, then there is the ever popular fuel pump replacement routine (do not try this unless you are trained and have the facilitates), there is also the install a plug in the system routine (once again do not try this at home), in short you have to take apart part of the system to get the siphon in, that should provide some grist for the mil.

    Remember this is a when the stuff hits the fan thing only.

    The thing is the gas still has to get into the tank and out of the tank when you use the vehicle so the paths are there and you will have the time instead of worrying about someone catching you like an old fashioned tank drainer had to.
  14. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Those cards don't work if the network they are hooked up to is out to lunch, there is something to be said for the old fashioned way. It doesn't need a sat link, or 3 or 4 g service ;)
  15. Hellfire

    Hellfire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Loc:
    Sunbury , PA 17801
    THINK SAFE /FLAMMABLE PROCEDURES FOLLOW:----

    Another way to do it If you are a mechanic or good at modern auto/truck work is to disconnect the quick connect fitting before or after your fuel filter (Whatever is easier access )+ having a repair line w/the opposing fitting on hand+ some high pressure hose/line approved for fuel contact make sure all fitting connections are --- Tight & Leak free ---making sure it`s away from any possible ignition sources including static! Ground your fuel can too! :ZZZ insert you hose into your fuel can gripping it tight (high pressure around 100 psi on these newer F.I. vehicles. turn key forward and viola fuel!!! WITHOUT STARTING IT!!! warning they pump out fast ! P.S. 2 people are the ticket to this fuel transfer procedure!!! + if you drain your vehicles tank dry Do Not start it with low or out of fuel as you will burn up your pump!!! Or just punch a hole in the bottom of the fuel tank MAD MAX approved.:eek: Only joking do that to your neighbors car/truck!!!
  16. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Oh come on bear, you don't need no stinkin' siphon.....all's ya gotta do is drill a 1/2" hole in the bottom of the tank. When you get all the gas you want, just use chewing gum to patch it back up.....simple!! ::-)
  17. Hellfire

    Hellfire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Loc:
    Sunbury , PA 17801
    Hey , we gotta be safe here .Use a brass punch .;lol We do not want any sparks now.
  18. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Hellfire, I had seen that method discussed a while back.

    imacman, do I need any particular brand of gum to seal the hole with? I'm not sure a drill is the thing to use, something might go boom.
    Hellfire likes this.
  19. Hellfire

    Hellfire Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Loc:
    Sunbury , PA 17801
    Believe it or not you can seal a hole in a metal fuel tank with soap too. ie: ( Ivory soap bar)

Share This Page