Gassification... An art or science?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CNY Joe

Jun 11, 2008
Central NY
It's been about a month since the tarm 40 was installed. We finally worked out the initial startup bugs like air in the system, etc.. Have been using it frequently now since the colder temps have set in and I have a few questions that perhaps the more experienced users can provide some insight since I'm a newbie at this-

1. I had the bypass open, lower door open, upper door closed, to get the fire going after loading it up with small pieces of kindling and larger pieces on top of that - on a hot bed of coals. I noticed small puffs of smoke and then a steady stream coming out the back of the unit above the flue area from where the vertical air vents are, adjacent to the access cover. Once I closed the lower door, the smoke stopped. Any ideas on the cause?

2. When I have a good fire going, a hot bed of coals and flue temp just above 400, gassification seems to be working as I will sometimes peak inside after opening the lower door unit, since the eye glass window tends to darken after a few burns. Secondary air is set at halfway. Even though I get the ideal gassification flame curl in the chamber, I sometimes get smoke coming out of the chimney as if I'm not gassifying at all. Any ideas on this? The chimney is a pre-fab and is fully exposed to the outside.

3. How often do you check and / or clean the flue and chimney under heavy use during the cold/winter season?

Learning one burn at a time.....

CNY Joe said: