Gauge & type of wire

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodNotOil

Minister of Fire
I am getting ready to buy the wire/cable to wire up my aquastats, relay, and pumps for my heat storage tank. Should I be using 14/2, 12/2, etc. Should I use aliminum bx, metal clad, steel armoured? Just too many choices. I would like whatever is least expensive or easiest to work with. Thanks for the help.

I'm not a licensed electrician, although I've done a lot of wiring work over the years and studied up on the Nat'l Electric Code each time in order to try to be in general compliance (even though I am not strictly subject to it for my own work in the boonies). And as an additional disclaimer- the last version I really read up on was the 2005 version. But part of why I do my own work (in addition to frugality) is I actually sleep better with what I install, and how I do it, than a _lot_ of what I have seen done by licensed "pros..."

14/2 should easily handle the amperage for any single device of the types you're talking about, although not necessarily for a feed from the breaker panel to your system as a whole. That said, un-knowledgeable inspectors (and even contractors) tend to wig out when they see anything other than #12 being used, even where it's legit for certain uses under code, and the cost differential may not be that big.